Celebration of Gospel 2016

Me:

patti happy

I’m spent. The whole show didn’t do this to me, but the Andrae Crouch tribute took me to a special place – you know – the hiding place. (If you didn’t grow up in church, many of us call Jesus’ love our hiding place. Ask a friend.)

Let’s run it back.

  1. Taraji P. Henson hosted, but wardrobe forgot she wasn’t Cookie in real life, and gave her Cookie’s dresses. They weren’t animal print (Hallelujah!), but she would’ve gotten the side-eye from my grandma AND a talking to if she’d worn them to the churches I grew up in.
  2. Tasha Cobbs put a praise on it, and reminded me that there’s a miracle and a breakthrough in this room with my name on it.
  3. Anthony Hamilton wore a huge, peacock blue (for all my fellow Crayola crayon colorers) hat and joined Pastor Shirley Caesar onstage. I think the song was nice, but the hat distracted me. Jesus said He forgives me for checking out.
  4. Donnie McClurkin and Chaka Khan sang “Walk with Me” and gave me that old school suffering vibe. I liked it. I, too, have asked Jesus to walk with me. So, we’ll be on a group walk.
  5. Le’Andria Johnson put me in the fetal position as usual. She can sing just about anyone to the altar.
  6. Yolanda Adams sang her earrings off!!! No, really. They fell out while she was serving our lives on a platter.
  7. Anthony Brown and Group Therapy sang “Worth.” All I have to say is YESSSSSS.
  8. Kirk Franklin nae-nae’d, dabbed, did the wop, the schmoney, and he probably hit the quan. I wanted to side-eye him, but NOPE. He killed all the moves and had me couch-dancing.
  9. Erica Campbell gave us trap gospel realness with “I Luh God.” Big Shizz/LaShawn accompanied her, but thennnnnnn Yazz the Greatest (Hakeem from Empire) spit a verse for the saints!
  10. Oh, Tank sang with Yolanda Adams. Crouch
  11. The Andrae Crouch tribute refreshed my soul. Like, my soul said YES in multiple languages. My soul grew 10,000 tongues and said YES. It was the most moving string of performances of the night for me.
  12. Tamela Mann sang her new song, and it was rock-and-roll-ish or something. I wasn’t moved, but it seemed others were.
  13. Travis Greene, Chrisette Michele, Tye Tribbett, and Jonathan McReynolds KILLED “Intentional.” That was the best performance of the night.
  14. Charles Jenkins performed, and little Heavenly Joy Jerkins came out and stole the show.
  15. I wanted Fantasia to be there. I always want Fantasia there.

Great job, BET. I look forward to next year.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Celebration of Gospel 2016

Leave a Reply

